English Market Selection

News Back

2010 Silver Chaveta Awarded to Cigar Box

Hunters & Frankau has awarded the Silver Chaveta for Habanos Retailer of the Year 2010 to Keir Sword and Chris Kilpatrick of Cigar Box on Edinburgh’s Royal Mile in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the UK fine cigar trade.

First awarded in 1999, H&F presents the Silver Chaveta trophy to one Specialist in Habanos each year. The criteria for consideration include Habanos sales and promotion, presentation and humidification, general outlet appearance, investment and innovation and pro-activity within the market.

Chris Kilpatrick received the coveted award from Ignacio Balmaseda, H&F’s Cuban Corporate Director, at the annual dinner of the Association of Independent Tobacco Specialists (A.I.T.S) on 4th October at Trent Bridge Cricket Ground in Nottingham.

Kier Sword opened his first shop in 1997. Called Royal Mile Whiskies, inevitably, whisky was the main attraction with a vast array of malts, but he also included a small cabinet of tubed Habanos. Positive customer response soon led him to replace this with a floor standing cabinet, which, within an hour, sold a full box of 25 Habanos. Convinced that a dedicated cigar shop had potential, in 1999, Keir opened a second shop, just a few yards away from Royal Mile Whiskies, called The Cigar Box where, this time, cigars ruled the roost along with a few token bottles of malt and some rums.

Today Cigar Box’s manager, Chris Kilpatrick offers over 20 Habanos brands in a wide array of vitolas. Furthermore, he plays an active and important role as Chair of the Independent Scottish Specialist Tobacconists Association (ISSTA) in the ongoing campaigns against proposed tobacco legislation, as well as continuing to promote, support and drive Habanos sales.

Chris Kilpatrick will attend the Habanos Festival in Havana at the end of February as a guest of Hunters & Frankau.

The previous winners of the Silver Chaveta are:

1999 Jean Clark of Harrods’ Cigar Department
2000 Tom Assheton of Tomtom Cigars
2001 Mike Davies of Cigar Connoisseur/Frederick Tranter
2002 John Withers of John Hollingsworth & Son
2003 Vimal Shah of Burlington Bertie
2004 Edward Sahakian of Davidoff of London
2005 Mitch Orchant of Cgars Ltd
2006 Desmond Sautter of Sautters of Mayfair
2007 Robert Emery of JJ Fox & Robert Lewis Cigar Merchants
2008 Ajay and Bhavna Patel of La Casa del habano.
2009 Paul Gilmore of Shave & Coster

Keep up to date

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest news from the world of Havana cigars including new releases and upcoming UK cigar events.

Privacy Policy